Main Menu

Trophies, Awards and Prize Winners

Every year, we present a number of race trophies and awards during the Tall Ships Races and Regattas. Each port hosts a lively and exciting Prize-Giving Ceremony, while the finishing port gives the overall race winners a celebration they won’t forget.

These prestigious awards recognise special contributions to the Tall Ships Races and Regattas, race winners, most international and diverse crews, best dressed trainees, crew sports victors… and lots more!

The Prize-Giving Ceremony is one of the highlights of our events. Thousands of people line the streets to watch the energetic Crew Parade, which makes its way through the city toward the Prize-Giving Ceremony. Representatives from each ship, including captains, crews and trainees, all attend the Prize-Giving Ceremony… you can also expect to see members of Sail Training International and some special guests on stage.

Fryderyk Chopin


Since 2003, the principal award at the end of each race series has been the Sail Training International Friendship Trophy. This trophy epitomises the objective of the races and is awarded to the vessel which, in the opinion of the entire race fleet through a secret ballot, has done most to help further international understanding and friendship during the races.

  • The Tall Ships Races Magellan-Elcano – Cuauhtemoc (Mexico)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2023 – Capitan Miranda (Uruguay)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2022 – Shabab Oman II (Oman)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2019 – Shabab Oman II (Oman)
  • SCF Far East Tall Ships Regatta 2018 – Bima Suci (Indonesia)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2018 – Eendracht (Netherlands)
  • The Three Festivals Regatta 2018 – De Gallant (France)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2017 – Shabab Oman II (Oman)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2016 – Fryderyk Chopin (Poland)
  • SCF Black Sea Tall Ships Regatta 2016 – Pogoria (Poland)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2015 – Fryderyk Chopin (Poland)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2014 – Fryderyk Chopin (Poland)
  • SCF Black Sea Tall Ships Regatta 2014 – Atyla (Vanuatu)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2013 – Shabab Oman (Oman)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2012 – St Iv (Estonia)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2011 – Wylde Swan (Netherlands)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2010 – Shabab Oman (Oman)
  • Historical Seas Tall Ships Regatta 2010 – Shabab Oman (Oman)
  • Garibaldi Tall Ships Regatta 2010 – Pandora (Italy)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2009 – Sharki (Poland)
  • Tall Ships Atlantic Challenge 2009 – Urania (Netherlands)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2008 – Shabab Oman (Oman)
  • Funchal 500 Tall Ships Regatta 2008 – Shabab Oman (Oman)
  • The Tall Ships Races Mediterranean 2007 – Guayas (Ecuador)
  • The Tall Ships Races Baltic 2007 – Lord Nelson (UK)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2006 – Juan de Langara (Spain)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2005 – Shabab Oman (Oman)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2004 – Mir (Russia)
  • The Tall Ships Races 2003 – Mir (Russia)

Presented by Torbay, UK, the first port to host a Tall Ships Race, to a trainee for outstanding individual achievement and personal effort.

Presented to a ship for their commitment and loyalty to the Tall Ships Races over the years (awarded at the annual conference).

Presented to the best newcomer to a Sail Training international race or regatta.

The Cape Horn Trophy is awarded annually to the ship which finishes first on Corrected Time in Class A in The Tall Ships Races.  This trophy consists of a real piece of the rock found at Latitude 55° 58’ 37.5” South Longitude 67° 15’ 27” N’ East and brought back from Cape Horn by the Chilean Armada during navigation of the Southern Pacific.  It is inscribed Por el Patrullero “Lientur” which translates as For the Patrolman “Leintur”.  It was presented to Sail Training International on 12 November 1968 and has been won by some of the most prestigious sail training ships in the world.