Main Menu

The Tall Ships Races 2022. Race Two, Report Three

Posted on: 30.07.22

Using her 1035 square metres of sail, the Indian Navy’s sail training ship Tarangini, is making waves as she ploughs on to extend her lead over the Class A vessels.

Designed by Colin Mudie and built in Goa in 1996/97, the three-masted barque is taking on faster ships and maintaining her lead.  The 30 Indian Navy cadets on board will be working hard, assisting the permanent crew to make use of every drop of wind they can find.

Here is an update from The Tall Ships Races 22 Race Director, Paul Bishop, on the overnight manoeuvres and resulting positions this morning as the fleet continue to head towards the finish line and Aalborg, the final port in this year’s race.

Zryw (Poland) took a decisive tactic and tacked to the east last night which gained her first place overall on Corrected Time this morning. Spaniel (Latvia) still heads the fleet on the water with around 170 nautical miles to go to the finish line. An amazing battle for second place is developing with Patricia (Belgium),Esprit (Germany), Asta (Germany) and Tornado (Poland) all with less than a mile separating their rhumb line distance to the finish.

The stand-out performance over the last 24 hrs has come from Tarangini (India) which has incredibly extended her lead in Class A. She will do well to hold off the faster Shabab Oman II (Oman) which is closing in fast.

Christiania (Norway) continues to lead Class B but has dropped from first to sixth place overall on Corrected Time. She has probably taken a short-term tactical hit to keep her in a strong position for when the wind changes so expect to see her overall placing improve over the next 24hrs.

The wind is due to veer to the south and strengthen from the back of the fleet over the next 24 hrs which will benefit the back markers and slower handicapped vessels. The Race Committee expects all vessels to be able to cross the finish line by the 08:00 time limit on Wednesday as stronger NW winds are forecast to build after the weekend”.  Paul Bishop, The Tall Ships Races 2022 Race Director

Pic: Tarangini (2018)

Latest YB positions at time of publishing (on corrected time)

Class A

Tarangini (India)
Shabab Oman II (Oman)
Oosterschelde (Netherlands)

Class B

Christiana (Norway)
Jens Krogh (Denmark)
Jolie Brise (UK)

Class C

Zryw (Poland)
Belfer (Poland)
Esprit (Germany)

Class D

Asta (Germany)
Op Stok 3 (Belgium)
Patricia (Belgium)


Once again, you will be able to follow the Tall Ships fleet as they make their way along the race routes thanks to the YB satellite tracking system. You can keep up to date with who is leading each race leg and ensure you miss none of the sailing action.

Each participating ship in the Races is fitted with a YB satellite transponder, a self-contained battery operated tracker which allows tracking of a vessel’s position from anywhere on earth. All vessels taking part in the Races are equipped with one so spectators can follow the fleet – anytime, anywhere – as they sail from Esbjerg (Denmark), to Harlingen (Netherlands), to Antwerp (Belgium), finishing in Aalborg (Denmark).

You can see a wide range of race information including; route mapping, real time vessel positions and their historic tracking, vessel details, replay of vessel tracks over time, leaderboards per division/group and current weather conditions.

Follow the Fleet


The Tall Ships Races 2022 will see the international fleet of Tall Ships and Small Ships return to the North Sea. From 7 July-7 August, we will visit Esbjerg, Harlingen, Antwerp and Aalborg.

The event will mark a welcome return to all four Host Ports who have hosted a total of 16 Tall Ships Races and Regattas so far. The series will see the Tall Ships sailing from Esbjerg, Denmark, south through the North Sea to Harlingen, Netherlands, as part of an exhilarating Race One.

Following this they will enjoy a stunning Cruise-in-Company leg further south to Antwerp, Belgium, enjoying spectacular coastal sailing. Race Two will take the fleet from Antwerp, Belgium, back north through the North Sea to Aalborg, Denmark, for the final celebrations.

Esbjerg, Denmark 7 July – 10 July

RACE one

Harlingen, Netherlands 14 July – 17 July


Antwerp, Belgium 22 July – 25 July

RACE two

Aalborg, Denmark 4 August – 7 August