

THE BOSTON TEAPOT TROPHY

The story of the Boston Teapot started in 1964, after the transatlantic Tall Ships' Race to America. Two vessels were sailing back from Boston to Europe, and one of them would benefit financially from their sponsors if she were taking part in a race, or other competition. It was decided that some form of trophy should be awarded for the fastest passage, greatest noon to noon run, or other feat. The details were not worked out until after the vessels had sailed, but it was decided that the trophy should be called "The Boston Teapot".

Brooke Bond Tea obtained permission from the Boston Fine Arts Museum to copy a silver teapot which was in use at Boston at the time of "The Tea Party". The Tea Party was the act of renunciation that presaged the American War of Independence and was described as "bold, daring, firm, intrepid and inflexible by the second President of the United States. The trophy now serves as a testament to the principles on which the Sail Training Association was founded.

The trophy is awarded to the sail training vessel which has covered the greatest distance in any period of 24 hours. How the period of 124 hours was established can only be described as something curiously British, but it has not sopped vessels vigorously competing for the trophy since its inception.

YEAR	VESSEL	COUNTRY	DISTANCE	AVE SPEED KNOTS
1964	CORSARO II	ITALY	1121	9.04
1965	GORCH FOCK	GERMANY	1079	8.70
1966	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	1335	10.77
1967	GORCH FOCK	GERMANY	1040	8.39
1968	GORCH FOCK	GERMANY	977	7.88
1969	GORCH FOCK	GERMANY	1191	9.60
1970	GLORIA	COLOMBIA	1058	8.53
1971	ESMERELDA	CHILE	1026	8.27
1972	EAGLE	USA	1100	8.87
1973	EAGLE	USA	1019	8.22
1974	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	952	7.68
1975	NO ENTRY			
1976	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	1248	10.06
1977	NO ENTRY			
1978	NO ENTRY			
1979	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	1029	8.30
1980	NO ENTRY			
1981	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	1115	8.99
1982	CISNE BRANCO	BRAZIL	1101	8.88
1983	GORCH FOCK	GERMANY	1098	8.85
1984	NO ENTRY			
1985	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	684	5.52
1986	NIPPON MARU	JAPAN	955	7.70

The past winners have been:

YEAR	VESSEL	COUNTRY	DISTANCE	AVE SPEED KNOTS
1987	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	1174	9.47
1988	DAR MLODZIEZY	POLAND	1241	10.00
1989	NIPPON MARU	JAPAN	1134	9.15
1990	KAIWO MARU	JAPAN	1350	10.81
1991	KAIWO MARU	JAPAN	1244	10.03
1992	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	1041	8.40
1993	NIPPON MARU	JAPAN	1201	9.70
1994	KAIWO MARU	JAPAN	1312	10.58
1995	KAIWO MARU	JAPAN	1394	11.20
1996	NO ENTRY			
1997	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	1126	9.10
1998	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	1158	9.34
1999	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	1088	8.68
2000	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	1218	9.82
2001	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	1184	9.55
2002	CUAUHTÉMOC	MEXICO	1343	10.83
2003	CUAUHTÉMOC	MEXICO	1064	8.6
2004	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	765	6.2
2005	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	956	7.7
2006	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	1028	8.3
2007	LIBERTAD	ARGENTINA	1033	8.3
2008	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	1116	9.0
2009	SAGRES	PORTUGAL	1230	9.92
2010	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	1443	11.64
2011	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	1216	9.81
2012	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	1266	10.21
2013	CUAUHTÉMOC	MEXICO	1189	9.59
2014	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	1436	11.58
2015	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	919	7.41
2016	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	1263	10.19
2017	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	Record * 1548	12.49
2018	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	1254	10.11
2019	FRYDERYK CHOPIN	POLAND	1218	9.82
2020	JUAN SEBASTIAN DE ELCANO	SPAIN	1013	8.17
2021	FRYDERYK CHOPIN	POLAND	1288	10.39
2022	STATSRAAD LEHMKUHL	NORWAY	1125	9.1
2023	B.A.P UNIÓN	PERU	1261	10.71
2024	CUAUHTÉMOC	MEXICO	1170	9.44